The idea of this blog is to facilitate the love of reading by collecting news about new books, or sometimes good old books. It is also dedicated to stamping out the scourge of e-books, Kindles, Kobo's, i-Pads, and all other such abominations.

Thursday, June 24, 2010

Atwood, Sawyer Shortlisted for SciFi Prize

Four Canadian authors have been nominated for the American John W. Campbell Memorial Award for best science fiction novel: Margaret Atwood for The Year of the Flood (McClelland & Stewart), Cory Doctorow for Makers (Tor Books), Robert J. Sawyer for Wake (Viking Canada), and Robert Charles Wilson for Julian Comstock: A Story of 22nd-Century America (Tor).

The award will be presented during the Campbell Conference awards banquet at the University of Kansas on Friday, July 16. Other finalists include:

Paolo Bacigalupi, The Windup Girl (Night Shade Books)
Iain M. Banks, Transition (Orbit)
Nancy Kress, Steal Across the Sky (Tor)
Paul McAuley, Gardens of the Sun (Gollancz)
China Mieville, The City & the City (Del Rey)
Adam Roberts, Yellow Blue Tibia (Gollancz)
Kim Stanley Robinson, Galileo’s Dream (Spectra)
Bruce Sterling, The Caryatids (Del Rey)


Post a Comment

<< Home